Day-Garrett Awards

The Day-Garrett Award, established in 1978, is presented annually to one or more individuals who have been outstanding contributors to professional social work and who have been significant members of the Smith College School for Social Work educational community. The award is to be given to those who, in the judgment of the Committee, have personified in their lives and service to the community the high purpose of professional service for which the school is renowned. This can include publication, teaching, administration, direct service, innovative programming and creation of policy.

The Day-Garrett Award will not be awarded in 2021. 

2020 Day-Garrett Award Ceremony

2020 Day-Garrett Winners

David Aronstein, M.S.W. '80

David Aronstein has been at the forefront of advocacy for LGBTQ people since his first days at the Smith School for Social Work. Aronstein was one of the first members of the SSW’s Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance and spearheaded the group’s successful effort to have sexual orientation added to the School’s non-discrimination policy. After graduating in 1980, he worked as a clinician at the North Shore Mental Health Center in Salem, before beginning an eight year tenure in leadership roles with the fledgling AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts. In 1998, Aronstein founded Stonewall Communities, a nonprofit serving LGBT seniors, for which AARP honored him with their Andrus Award for Community Service. Most recently, Aronstein was program director of the Boston Alliance for Community Health before retiring in 2019. Aronstein is also the co-author, along with SSW alum Bruce Thompson, of HIV and Social Work: A Practitioner’s Guide.

Dominique Moyse Steinberg, M.S.W., D.S.W.

Dominique Moyse Steinberg has had a long career as an innovative social work practitioner, educator and scholar. Steinberg started her career as a reproductive health counselor and worked with homebound elderly clients before earning an M.S.W. at Hunter College. She went on to work with at-risk teens and taught at Hunter and NYU. After earning her D.S.W., Steinberg turned her attention more fully to teaching, research and scholarship. In addition to work at Hunter and Simmons College, she taught at Smith School for Social Work and supervised theses from 1997 to 2005. Steinberg became a full-time faculty member at Hunter in 2003 and served as the chair of their group work sequence. After retiring, Steinberg returned to Smith as a thesis supervisor and chaired the Simmons School Social Work online graduate program in research methods. Steinberg also founded and leads Custom Elder Care, a nonprofit developing resources for caregivers.

Bruce Thompson, M.S.W., M.P.H., Ph.D. '87

Throughout his career, Bruce Thompson has shown a commitment to the health of vulnerable populations and LGBTQ communities. Thompson earned an M.S.W. from Syracuse University, a M.P.H. from Harvard and a Ph.D. from Smith SSW. In the 1970s, he coordinated the development of new health care programs for seniors, including the Massachusetts Home Care Program and the Braintree Rehabilitation Hospital. Since 1977, he has been on the faculty of Roger Williams University, and was an assistant clinical professor at Brown University from 1988 to 1994. At Smith SSW, Thompson and SSW alum Caitlin Ryan co-developed and taught Gay and Lesbian Identity: Treatment Issues and AIDS: Clinical Social Work Responses. He also served as a thesis advisor for nearly 30 years and is on the editorial board of Smith College Studies in Social Work. With SSW alum David Aronstein, Thompson co-edited HIV and Social Work: A Practitioner’s Guide and with SSW alum Steven Cadwell, he created the Smith SSW Endowed Fund for the Advancement of LGBTQ Studies in Clinical Social Work. Thompson has also maintained a private practice since 1985.


To nominate a member of the SSW community, please complete the Nomination Form no later than February 1.